How To Deactivate A Tile Tracker

Tile trackers are handy little Bluetooth devices that allow you find your keys, wallet, or anything else you lot tin can attach them to. Once you pair them with your account, though, they’re a little hard to remove by design. Hither’south how to hide a Tile from your account, transfer in a replacement Tile, or delete a Tile birthday.

RELATED:

How to Utilize Tile to Notice Your Keys, Wallet, or Annihilation Else

Since a Tile tracker is connected to your phone and can be used to locate important items similar your keys, phone, or wallet, the company doesn’t brand it like shooting fish in a barrel to remove them. The concluding thing you want is for a thief to immediately remove your tracker so you can’t find your stuff. If you lot need to get rid of an old Tile from your account, there are a few ways to practise it and they all work a footling differently:

  • Hide a Tile:
    If yous have a Tile in your list that has a dead bombardment or you just don’t care well-nigh seeing it anymore, you can temporarily hide information technology. This will notwithstanding keep the Tile active on your account, merely you won’t go notifications almost information technology and information technology won’t show up in your Tile list. You can unhide a Tile from the Settings menu at any fourth dimension.
  • Transfer a Tile:
    This option lets you give your Tile away to someone else. You’ll need to contact Tile’s customer support to do this.
  • Supervene upon a Tile:
    Somewhen, the not-removable battery in your Tile will dice. When that happens, you can buy a new Tile and supplant your old Tile with the new one. This footstep will deactivate your old Tile.
  • Delete a Tile:
    If you want to remove a Tile from your account entirely, you’ll need to contact Tile’southward customer back up. This is the nuclear choice. Once a Tile is deactivated, it can’t be reactivated on any business relationship, for security reasons. If you desire to give your Tile away or just hide information technology for a while, use one of the other options.

Generally, you won’t want to delete a Tile, but we’ll become through how to use each option.

Hide a Tile From Your List

To temporarily hide a Tile from your account, open up the Tile app.

Swipe across the Tile you want to hide from right to left to reveal a bill of fare. Tap the red Hide button.

Now, on your listing of Tiles, you won’t meet the one you just hid. You also won’t be able to apply it to locate your telephone and you won’t be able to ring it remotely from your phone.

If you ever need to unhide your Tile, tap the Settings icon on the main screen of the app.

Scroll down and tap Manage Hidden Tiles.

Hither, you’ll run across a list of whatsoever Tiles you’ve hidden. Tap Unhide next to the one yous want to add back to your Tile listing.

You tin hide or unhide a Tile as often as you need to.

Transfer a Tile To a Friend

If you want to give your Tile away to someone else, you’ll need to contact Tile support. Before yous do, though, you’ll need a few pieces of information.

  • Your electronic mail address.
  • The email address of the person you want to transfer your Tile to.
  • The Tile ID of the Tile you’re transferring.

Yous’ll accept the get-go function already, naturally. Make sure your friend has downloaded the Tile app for Android or iOS and ask them for the email address they used to sign up. The last fleck is a little trickier. To notice your Tile ID, open the Tile app and swipe the Tile you want to transfer to the left. Tap Edit.

Towards the bottom of the screen, you’ll see an alphanumeric string next to Tile Identifier (in the surface area that is blurred out in the photo below). Write down this cord.

Once yous have this data, email Tile’s support at team@thetileapp.com from the email address associated with your business relationship. They will help you with the transfer procedure from there.

Supercede an One-time Tile With a New One

Tile guarantees that all of its products volition last for at least a yr, but may (and probably will) last longer depending on battery life. After you’ve had a Tile for xi months, yous can opt into Tile’s reTile program to get a replacement for cheaper than the normal retail price. Once you have your replacement, open upward the app. Swipe left on the Tile you want to replace and tap Edit.

At the bottom of the screen, tap “Replace this Tile.”

On the next two screens, select which type of Tile you’re replacing your one-time device with.

Next, click the Tile logo in the center of your new device and place information technology adjacent to your telephone. The new Tile will play a fiddling jingle and automatically pair with your phone.

Once the pairing is finished, you’ll see a bluish screen that reads “Tile Activated.”

Your new Tile will maintain the aforementioned name and picture (if y’all uploaded ane) as the old Tile. Y’all won’t have to update whatever settings. The old Tile will be unusable later this, though if you’re replacing information technology, information technology was probably expressionless or broken already.

Delete a Tile From Your Account

Normally, the above options should be plenty for whatever consequence you have. Fifty-fifty if y’all’re done with a Tile forever, hiding it will take the same result equally deleting it from a practical standpoint. However, if you want to become rid of a Tile and make absolutely certain that no ane else can ever use information technology over again, y’all’ll need to contact Tile support. There are a few ways to do that.

  • Chat support:
    To chat with Tile online, open up any page on Tile’s online Assist Center, hover over the blue How Can We Aid? tab at the bottom of the screen and click Live Support. This will allow you lot start a conversation with a Tile representative. Note: This is only available from 8:30AM to 5:30PM Pacific.
  • Email support: If you’d rather speak via email (or can’t contact Tile during the daytime), you can submit a support request through this class.

Again, deleting your Tile is an ordeal, so you lot probably won’t want to do it unless you absolutely need to disable a Tile completely. One time you delete your Tile, it will be completely unusable. You’ll never be able to enable it again and no 1 else will always be able to use it on their account either.



Source: https://www.howtogeek.com/311078/how-to-hide-transfer-replace-or-delete-a-tile-tracker-from-your-account/