How to Find Out If a Facebook Friend Blocked You
By David Weedmark
At that place are several reasons why someone may vanish from your list of Facebook friends. Being blocked by that person is certainly 1 of those reasons, simply it isn’t the merely one. The person may take unfriended you or deleted his Facebook account. Facebook won’t notify you if you have been blocked, merely using Facebook Search, old messages, mutual friends and the Facebook public directory, y’all can ofttimes assemble plenty clues to determine whether or non y’all accept been blocked.
If you no longer see a friend in your Friends list, try typing the person’south name in the Search field at the top of any Facebook folio. If the person hasn’t blocked yous and still has an agile account, his name should appear near the top of the listing. Y’all can click the “Encounter More than” link at the bottom of the list to keep searching. If you can’t find his name, he may have changed his name, deleted his account or he may have blocked you. If you discover your friend listed in the search results, you oasis’t been blocked. If y’all click his name and see an “Add Friend” button on his Timeline folio, you’ve been unfriended.
Using Former Messages
Being blocked by someone does non delete Facebook messages. If you lot suspect you accept been blocked and you have shared Facebook messages with that person, you should still be able to find those messages in your message history, provided you lot haven’t deleted them yourself. If the person’s movie is now a generic silhouette and if you are unable to send a new message to that person, the person has either blocked yous or has deleted his Facebook account.
Using the Public Directory
Facebook has a public directory designed for people without a Facebook account. (Come across Resources for the link.) If you log out of Facebook, y’all can use this directory without the search results being affected by a block. Yous tin can search alphabetically, but it’s faster if you just type the person’s name. In that location is no option to limit searches past metropolis so you may accept to scroll through a lot of names, especially if the name is a common one. If you’re unable to discover the person, it could exist considering he chose not to brand his profile available for public search. If you are able to discover him, click the name to become to his Timeline and and then log in from that page. If the Timeline is no longer visible, y’all’ve been blocked.
There are a couple of ways to notice out if you’ve been blocked through using your mutual friends. The most direct fashion is to enquire a mutual friend if he can still see the person on Facebook. If he tin and you tin’t, you have been blocked. If you don’t want to ask your friend directly, wait a day or 2 and go to the mutual friend’s Timeline. No 1 can command what is seen on someone else’s Timeline, and then If your sometime friend disappeared on Tuesday and you encounter him calculation comments or liking posts on your mutual friend’s Timeline on Wed, you have most probably been blocked.
Data in this article applies to Facebook as it worked in April 2013. Information technology may vary slightly or significantly with other versions or products.
A published author and professional speaker, David Weedmark has advised businesses and governments on technology, media and marketing for more than twenty years. He has taught reckoner science at Algonquin College, has started three successful businesses, and has written hundreds of articles for newspapers and magazines throughout Canada and the U.s..